January 15, 2017

IT execs should not tell business users to choose between Tableau and Qlik

IT executives should not force business users to choose between Tableau and Qlik. After all, business users don't tell IT to choose between Windows and Linux.

Such "standardization", while still very popular in many organizations, brings more harm than good. It's originates from a few myths:



Myth #1: All BI tools are basically the same

This is no more true than saying "All airplanes are basically the same". Such altitude is coming from poor understanding of the purpose of Business Intelligence tools and capabilities of products available on the market. If two applications show charts and allow analyzing data it doesn't make them functionally equivalent because there is huge variety in the ways how data can be viewed and analyzed. Tell a good chef that all knives are basically the same therefore s/he should pick and use only one knife. Because, you know, "standardization".

BI tools are not the same. The task of data analysis and visualization is so complex and broad that no vendor can create a universal comprehensive solution, just like neither Boeing nor Airbus can create one universal airplane suitable for all cases -- from long passenger flights to air warfare to rescue operations.

For instance Qlik has amazing associative engine that allows easy discovery of logical relationships in data. Tableau has absolutely wonderful data visualization concept that unveils hidden patterns and provides meaningful perspectives that could be easily overlooked. Spotfire offers comprehensive means for scientific analysis and predictive modelling. The core concepts of these applications don't overlap. Some features surely do, but that doesn't make them interchangeable. Other BI tools also have their strong features. Any analytical application that has deeply thought-out, fundamental concept behind it will be significantly different from others.

Myth #2: Standardization is always a good thing

This myth is logically connected to Myth #1. Standardization, when it's applicable, has obvious benefits most of which boil down to one -- cost reduction. A company can get a deeper discount if it purchases more software licenses. You can save on training if you train employees only for 1 tool, instead of many. More people with similar skills are interchangeable, therefore less risk of losing critical expertise, also reduced staff count. And so on.

However, any cost reduction is only good when it doesn't degrade key functional capabilities. What would happen if you force a chef to "standardize" on knives? His/her functional capability would degrade. What would happen if you tell a military air force to use the same type of plane for cargo transportation and air dogfighting? Its functional capability would degrade. That's why nobody does it.

Myth #3: All business users have similar data analysis needs

There is a stereotypical understanding in the BI world that there are three main types of BI users: regular users (receive specialized reports), advanced users (interactively analyze and research data) and management users (look at dashboards, monitor high-level KPIs). It's an easy, simple and misleading classification. Misleading because BI adoption is never a one-way street. Unlike transactional systems, BI is still optional. It's hard to force people to use some tool if they don't like it or don't understand how to use it. In the case of BI adoption, they can always retreat to good old Excel (and they frequently do).

People are different and they have different preferences. When it comes to data analysis, two persons doing the same task might have different views on how to do it best. A good sign of a person who knows what s/he is doing is whether s/he has strong opinion on tools needed for the job. Therefore, business users themselves should pick what they need. If business users are okay with any analytical application given to them and have no own opinion on it then they don't really need it and purchasing it would be a waste of money.

Myth #4: Business users can do a good evaluation in a 2 month period


Data analysis is a rapidly developing discipline. It's developing in many directions: methods and techniques, visualizations, processing algorithms, metadata governance, unstructured data processing, etc. The times when a BI system was simply a visual SQL query generator with some interactive charting are long gone. BI is complex nowadays, and its complexity will only increase. Even best analytical applications on the market have rather steep learning curve, despite claims about the opposite in PR/marketing campaigns. Modern BI applications can be relatively easy to start with, but as soon as something slightly non-trivial is needed the learning curve skyrockets. Look at online forums like Tableau Community, or Qlik Community -- they are full of people asking tons of how-to questions which sometimes require rather lengthy and detailed answers.

I believe that a good understanding of capabilities of a data analysis application can be developed after at least 1 year of using the application regularly on complex real-life projects. That's in a case when there was no any previous experience with analytical applications. Or at least 6 months, if there was some (which means that you should be already familiar with some concepts). Asking business users without any previous experience with BI applications to provide a feedback on an application based on 2-3 month evaluation of some demo/PoC dashboard (i.e. which are not in production use) -- is a sure (albeit very common) way to get wrong conclusions. Don't do that.

OK, what's the alternative?

Tool as a Service (a.k.a. The Data Kitchen)

At this point you probably started suspecting that modern BI applications are not just more powerful than ever but also more complex than ever, and are more different from each other than ever. Comparing Tableau with Qlik makes as much sense as comparing apples with oranges. They are all round, after all, aren't they?

I believe that the most efficient way to adopt Business Intelligence is the one where adoption grows organically. IT departments should create an environment that fosters such organic growth, instead of limiting and restricting it for the purpose of hypothetical cost reduction. They should embrace the data kitchen concept, where multiple tools are available for the users who are looking for different ways to work with data. We can call it "Tool as a Service" if you will. Don't standardize on one BI system -- it's not going to work well. Ask business users what they like, and help them make it work from a technical perspective. It's the business users who should decide what to use and when. It's them who will accumulate the expertise of using the applications, not the IT people.

Practically, it means that teams as small as 5-10 people, or as big as 100 (or maybe even more) evaluate and test analytical applications themselves. The IT management should be ready that different teams may choose different applications. It's the users who should decide what works best for them. If they need two tools with somewhat overlapping features -- give them access to both. If more -- let them use as many as they need.

It doesn't mean that you will have to purchase every possible software for every user. Start with small packs of licenses for a few applications chosen by business users. Add more licenses when popularity of one of the applications increases. In this case license usage will correlate with growth of expertise. It's more efficient (also from a cost perspective) than spending millions for enterprise agreements then forcing everyone to use only the "standard" BI tool because "we spent so much money on it".

November 23, 2016

Unplugged: What I learned about people and technology while writing QViewer




This post is not about BI technology or vendors or data analysis. "Unplugged" is a new kind of articles in this blog. It's my personal observations with a bit of philosophical contemplation, if you will. Today I'm writing about what I've learned while developing and selling QViewer -- a side project started as a "quick and dirty" tool for personal use which then became an interesting business experiment that taught me a few new things about people and technology:

You can make and sell things as your side project. It's doable. I remember that somewhat awkward feeling when I received first ever payment for software that I made myself. It was very unusual. I had experience of selling enterprise software with a 6-digit price tag, but that was someone else's business. Getting your own first sale in a $50 range was no less exciting if not more.

People in general are good. Once you start selling software you interact with people all over the world. And it turns out that people are generally good around the globe. I was surprised how many very grateful and positive people there is. Probably it's the most unexpected and gratifying outcome of the whole project.

Some people cheat with licenses. Despite the fact that the cheapest QViewer license costs less than a dinner for two, and, unlike the dinner, is acquired forever -- they still cheat. I understand it's a part of the human nature -- feeling frustration and pity when someone steals from you and at the same time enjoying the benefits of stealing from someone else even if it's just pocket money. People are complicated animals. So I'm not saying anything about the people that cheat. I'm deeply content that the majority is honest. The humanity definitely has a chance to survive :)

Some people are strange. No need to deal with them. After all, doing business is a two-way street. I remember one person demanded a sales presentation, a webex demonstration and sending him a detailed commercial proposal for QViewer because he and "his guys" wanted to evaluate whether it's worth spending couple hundred dollars. I replied that I'm ready to answer any specific questions, and offered to try the free QViewer to get an idea about the product. I've never heard from him again.

95% of technical support time is spent on 5% of customers. Some people are just like that -- they don't read instructions, forget things, don't check spam folders before complaining that their key didn't arrive, can't figure out what instance of QViewer they're launching, etc. It's OK, they just need more help. After all, adults are just grown up kids.

User recommendations is the best advertisement. So far I've spent exactly $0 for advertising QViewer. Yet, it's quite popular, mostly because of user recommendations. For me it was a good example of what it looks like when you made something useful. If people recommend it to each other -- you're on the right path.

1 out 10 orders never paid. Spontaneous decisions, no problem.

Payment reminders work. Sometimes, your invoice sent to a customer may be buried in his/her email box under a pile of unread messages. Sending a friendly reminder once might help. Just once, that's enough for those who are really looking to buy.

Even small side projects can be extremely good for career opportunities. Needless to say, mentioning QViewer in my CV helped me tremendously in finding new employers (when I looked for them). I would argue that the salary increase it enabled has earned me more than selling QViewer licenses alone.

Developer tools are amazing nowadays. I wrote my first program in 1986. It was in BASIC on a military-grade DEC-type computer. In 90s I wrote programs in C++, Pascal and Assembly. Between 1998 and 2011 I didn't write a single line of code (except some Excel macros). Boy, how things have changed since then. When I started writing QViewer in 2012 I was totally fascinated with the capabilities of Visual Studio and C#. Later I fell in love with F# but that's a different story. And thanks God we have StackOverflow. Writing software has never been easier.

Obfuscate and protect your software. Sooner or later someone will try to disassemble your software for a purpose that might be disappointing for you. There is no absolute protection, but raising the barrier can significantly complicate the task. Once I interviewed a developer for EasyMorph. Trying to impress me, the guy told me that he also wrote a QVD viewer. However, after not answering a few questions about the QVD format he quickly admitted that he just disassembled and repacked some components of QViewer. I learned a lesson that day.

Writing and selling software changed my perception of the software industry. I understood what it takes to create it. I stopped using any pirated programs. Now I use only licensed software, even if it's rather expensive (I'm looking at you, Microsoft), and I always donate when a program is available for free but donations are accepted.

November 21, 2016

A simple join test that many fail

From time to time I happen to interview BI developers and I noticed that many of them don't understand how joins work. Probably, because most of the time they used to work with normalized data in transactional systems where primary keys always exist and defined by database design. In order to do figure out if the candidate has basic understanding of joins I ask him/her to answer the question below (without executing any actual query):




Hint: the correct answer is not 4. If you're unsure whether your answer is correct see this short video where both tables are joined using EasyMorph: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RYCtoRTEk84, or check our this SQLFiddle: http://sqlfiddle.com/#!9/60011/11/0

Not understanding joins sooner or later leads to uncontrolled data duplication in cases where joined tables are denormalized, which is a frequent cause of miscalculations in analytical applications.

UPDATE: Added a link to SQLFiddle (kudos to Devon Guerro).

November 15, 2016

Now we know where Tableau is heading. Where is Qlik going?

During the recent conference Tableau has unveiled its three-year roadmap. Briefly, it includes:
  • High-performance in-memory engine based on Hyper (in the timeframe that I predicted earlier)
  • Enhanced data preparation capabilities (Project Maestro)
  • Built-in data governance
  • Pro-active automatically designed visualizations
  • Tableau Server for Linux
The most interesting are the first two. Once implemented, they will significantly reduce the gap with Qlik in terms of performance and versatility. I wouldn't expect the first version of Tabeau's in-memory engine to be as performant and scalable as Qlik's QIX (let's not dismiss almost 20 years of tuning and optimizations), however I would predict that for small and medium deployments performance will not be an issue. Even if we assume that QIX would still be 2-3 times faster than Tableau Hyper -- performance won't be a decision-critical factor anymore.

Project Maestro is another inevitable move from Tableau people who now realize that self-service data analysis requires self-service data transformation. Tableau is still reluctant building a fully-featured ETL for business users like EasyMorph, however once Project Maestro is implemented the advantage of having built-in ETL capabilities in Qlik would be diminished (but not dismissed).

Now, when Tableau has clear advantage on the data visualization side and stops being a fancy add-on to databases but becomes more and more a self-contained analytical platform, the question is -- where is Qlik going?

QlikView is not actively developed anymore. All the recent developments on the Qlik Sense side in 90% cases are focused on expanding API capabilities, while its data visualization capabilities remain frugal. Honestly, I don't understand this development logic. I would understand it, if Qlik's product strategy assumed heavy reliance on 3rd party tools for decent data visualization and analysis. However so far I struggle to see any high-quality 3rd party tools built on top of Qlik Sense API that can amend the built-in visualizations. Qlik Market might have a few interesting extensions, but they're typically very specialized. Qlik Branch lacks high-quality extensions and is full of no longer supported experimental projects. Qlik itself doesn't promote any 3rd party tools and its product roadmap is yet to be seen.

So where is Qlik going?

September 4, 2016

How to use the memstat metrics in QViewer

Starting from version 3.1 QViewer shows two memstat metrics in Table Metadata window:
  • Size, bytes -- total size of the column in bytes
  • Avg.bytes per symbol -- average size of column values in byte 


click to zoom


These metrics are calculated similarly to memstat data available in QlikView (not available in Qlik Sense so far). Since the structure of QVD files is very close to the internal in-memory data format in Qlik these metrics can be used to optimize (reduce) memory footprint of resident tables which can be desirable for particularly large applications. The most convenient way to inspect resident tables in QViewer is setup a simple generic subroutine as described here. Alternatively, you can insert temporary STORE statements to save resident tables into QVDs and then open them in QViewer manually.

When looking at the memstat metrics in QViewer you would typically want to identify columns that take most of space (hint: click column headers in Table Metadata to sort the grid). A few things that you can do reduce table size:
  • Remove unnecessary columns that take a lot of space
  • Force Qlik to convert duals to numbers by multiplying them by 1
  • Trim text values to remove trailing and leading spaces
  • Use integers instead of floats where possible
  • Round up floats to fewer decimal digits to have fewer distinct values in the column
  • Use autonumbers instead of long composite text keys
Read also "A few tips for dealing with large QlikView applications".

Remarks
Qlik uses special format for columns with incrementally increasing integers (autonumbers) -- they basically don't  take up any space in memory, although QVDs store them as regular columns.

The memstat metrics are calculated correctly even if QVDs are partially loaded in QViewer. Therefore you can use them in the free version of QViewer, or when partial loading was used.

QVDs generated in Qlik Sense v.2 and above are compatible with QVDs generated in QlikView and therefore can be opened in QViewer as well.

The total size is NOT simply the avg. symbol size multiplied by # of rows -- it's calculated using a more complicated logic that accounts data compression.

August 1, 2016

QViewer v3: Qlik-style filtering and full table phonetic search

New major version of QViewer is out. You can download it here: http://easyqlik.com/download.html

Here is what's new and exciting about it:

Qlik-style filtering

 

click to zoom

The headline feature of the new version is the ability to filter tables in the Qlik fashion using listboxes. Applied filters can be seen in the filter bar that appears above the table (see screenshot above).

When a selection is made, value counters update automatically. The green bar charts behind the counters hint at current selection count vs total count ratio.

Note that nulls are also selectable.

Full table search

It is now possible to search for a value in entire table. Current selection becomes limited to only rows where the searched value is found. Full table search is basically another kind of filter. When it's applied, it can be seen in the filter bar.

Phonetic search mode

The full-table search and the listboxes allow looking up values by matching them phonetically. This is helpful when you don't know for sure the spelling of a word in question. For instance, if you search for "Acord" values "Accord", "Akord", "Akkort" will match. Phonetic search works for whole words only. Currently, only English phonetic matching is supported.

Cell metadata

 


You can view additional metadata of a value in question using Cell Metadata floating window. This is particularly helpful for easy detection of leading and trailing spaces in text values.

New license key format

The new version requires upgrading license keys. All license keys purchased after 1st of August, 2015 will be upgraded for free. License keys purchased prior to that date are upgraded at 50% of the current regular price. To upgrade a license key please send me your old key and indicate the email address it is linked to.

July 9, 2016

The three most important habits of a data analyst

I've been doing data analysis for almost 15 years -- mostly using Excel and Business Intelligence tools. And from the very first year I believe that accuracy is the biggest challenge for a data analyst. Accuracy is fundamental because if a calculation result is incorrect then everything else that is based on it -- visualizations, judgements and conclusions, become irrelevant and worthless. Even performance is not so important, because sometimes you can solve a performance problem by throwing in more hardware, but that would never fix incorrect calculation logic.

Ensuring accuracy is probably the most important skill a data analyst should master. To me, striving for accuracy is a mental discipline developed as a result of constant self-training, rather than something that can be learned overnight. There are three practical habits to develop this skill:

1) Sanity checks. These are quick litmus tests that allow detecting grave errors on early stages. After you get a calculation result for the first time, ask yourself -- does it make sense? Does the order of magnitude look sane? If it's a share (percentage) of something else -- is it reasonably big/small? If it's a list of items -- is it reasonably long/short? Sounds like a no-brainer but people tend to skip sanity checks frequently.

2) Full assumption testing. In my experience this habit is most overlooked by beginner analysts. Assumptions should not be opinions, they must be verified facts. "We're told that field A has unique keys" -- verify it by trying to find duplicate values in it. "Field B has no nulls" -- again, verify it by counting nulls or check data model constraints (where applicable). "They said that Gender is encoded with M and F" -- verify it by counting distinct values in field Gender. Whatever assumptions are used for filtering, joining or calculation -- absolutely all of them must be tested and confirmed prior to doing anything else. Once you develop this habit you would be surprised how often assumptions turn out to be wrong. A good data analyst can spend a few days to verify assumptions before even starting analyzing data itself. Sometimes assumptions are implicit -- e.g. when we compare two text fields we usually implicitly assume that neither of if has special symbols or trailing spaces. A good data samurai is able to see invisible recognize implicit assumptions and test them explicitly.

3) Double calculation. This habit is sometimes overlooked by even experienced analysts. Probably because it requires sometimes rather tedious effort. This habit is about creating alternative calculations, often created in a different tool -- typically Excel. The point is to test the core logic, therefore such alternative calculation can include only a subset of original data and do not cover minor cases. The results achieved using alternative calculation should be equal to results of the main calculation logic, regardless whether it's done in SQL or some BI/ETL tool.

Let the Accuracy be with you.